Along The Byway

Clay County

Clay County was created on June 16, 1870, and was named in honor of the Kentucky statesman Henry Clay.

Morgan County

Morgan County was originally created in 1817.

Overton County

Overton County was established in 1806 and named in honor of John Overton.

Scott County

Scott County was created in 1849.

Pickett County

Pickett County was formed in 1879 from portions of Overton and Fentress counties.

Campbell County

Created in 1806, the county is named in honor of Arthur Campbell.

Fentress County

The county was established in 1823 from Morgan, Overton, and White counties and is named in honor of James Fentress.

Claiborne County

Claiborne County was established by the Tennessee General Assembly in 1801.